Jump to content
2025 Members Choice voting is now open! Vote now for your favorite gear! ×

Schulzmc

Advanced Members
  • Posts

    761
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Feedback

    0%

Personal Information

  • Handicap
    8
  • Location
    Midwest USA

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

Schulzmc's Achievements

676

Reputation

  1. The “wrinkle” here is the setting of the putter on the green. Unless it was witnessed it will be tough to decide if the action affected the ball and caused it to move. But barring the person causing it to move, (if say a gust of wind had clearly caused the movement) the concession applies to the NEXT stroke. Since the ball had not been marked and replaced, and had that wind caused it to go in, the score would be 3 for the hole and the concession is irrelevant.
  2. How about this? If, in the act of taking a practice swing, the player inadvertently causes the ball to move, the player is assessed one penalty stroke and the ball is in play at the new location.
  3. No - I do understand the point. We are just introducing “best estimate or best judgement” in a different place. You and Newby as to whether you have replaced it in the right place. Me as to whether the movement materially affected your next shot.
  4. I understand the issue. So simply the act of “replacing” is enough? I would say if the movement changed the lie or ability to play the shot in any material way then of course it needs to be replaced. Short of that I am not sure failure to replace is deserving of a penalty. And I understand there is something subjective in what I just said. But we allow some subjectivity in other rules (“Best guess” at where the ball last crossed into the penalty area, etc.) all the time.
  5. In Lowry’s case it’s hard to imagine “replacing” that ball. It literally turned about 1/4”. I agree he should have received the 1 stroke penalty for causing the ball to move. It clearly moved enough to be seen with the naked eye, and his swing clearly hit a twig that extended to where the ball was sitting causing the rotation. But that he now played from a “wrong place” is a bit ridiculous. Would reaching down and turning his ball 1/4” make any difference? Would it truly now be back in the identical place? It also appeared to shift 1/4” deeper into the grass. How does he lift it a bit to recreate the lie? The fact that he received two strokes seems excessive.
  6. I definitely twist my left foot (a lot!) when I swing, which leaves some deep marks on the tee box that I have to tamp down. Imagine me doing that on a putting green
×
×
  • Create New...