Jump to content
2025 Members Choice voting is now open! Vote now for your favorite gear! ×

GUR or Grrrrr?


Recommended Posts

Quick dilemma here. Was playing a round on Saturday (4ball matchplay). My tee shot finds the edge of a bunker with a worn front edge which then went into marked GUR. It was hard to find an exact edge (hence the GUR, but I would say that 30% of the ball was in the bunker, and the rest was GUR. I ended up playing it as it lied. Was I right?

[color=#A4A4A4][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif][size=2]Srixon z565 Speeder 569 Evo IV SR[/size][/font][/color]
[color=#A4A4A4][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif][size=2]TaylorMade RBZ 3 wood, [/size][/font][/color][color=#A4A4A4][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif][size=2]Matrix Ozik R[/size][/font][/color]
[font="helvetica, arial, sans-serif"][color="#a4a4a4"][size=2]Srixon U65 2 iron, Miyazaki S[/size][/color][/font]
[color=#A4A4A4][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif][size=2]Cobra F6 Hybrid 22 degrees RedTie S[/size][/font][/color]
[color=#A4A4A4][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif][size=2]Srixon z945 5-pw w/ DG s200[/size][/font][/color]
[color=#A4A4A4][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif][size=2]Miura Y 51 and K 56 DG Spinner, Yururi Raw 61 KBS [/size][/font][/color][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif][color=#a4a4a4][size=2]HiRev[/size][/color][/font]
[font="helvetica, arial, sans-serif"][color="#a4a4a4"][size=2]Odyssey O-Works Black 34"[/size][/color][/font]

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

If a ball touches GUR, it's in GUR. If a ball touches a bunker, it's in the bunker. Your ball touched each, and was therefore in each: that is, in GUR in a bunker.

You can play it as it lies, as you did (unless there was a local rule requiring mandatory GUR relief) or you could take a drop which may or may not have been free according to 25-1B:
[color=#000000][size=3]
(ii)[u]In a Bunker[/u]: If the ball is in a [i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Bunker"]bunker[/url][/i], the player must lift the ball and drop it either:[/size][/color][color=#000000][size=3]
(a) Without penalty, in accordance with Clause (i) above, except that the[i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Nearest-Point-Of-Relief"]nearest point of relief[/url][/i] must be in the [i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Bunker"]bunker[/url][/i] and the ball must be dropped in the [i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Bunker"]bunker[/url][/i] or, if complete relief is impossible, as near as possible to the spot where the ball lay, but not nearer the [i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Hole"]hole[/url][/i], on a part of the [i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Course"]course[/url][/i] in the[i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Bunker"]bunker[/url][/i] that affords maximum available relief from the condition; or[/size][/color][color=#000000][size=3]
(b) [color=red][b]Under penalty of one stroke[/b][/color], outside the [i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Bunker"]bunker[/url][/i] keeping the point where the ball lay directly between the [i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Hole"]hole[/url][/i] and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the [i][url="http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Definitions/#Bunker"]bunker[/url][/i] the ball may be dropped.[/size][/color]

I wouldn't be surprised if playing it as it lied was the best choice, though it might not have been.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Sawgrass' timestamp='1418017287' post='10560721']
If a ball touches GUR, it's in GUR. If a ball touches a bunker, it's in the bunker. Your ball touched each, and was therefore in each: that is, in GUR in a bunker.
[/quote]

My first reaction is, "Oh no it isn't!" But I will think more carefully before committing myself.

Bingo, are you saying that the outside of the line marking the GUR was exactly on the margin of the bunker - as best you could tell?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I think the important point is that the determination on 1) whether it is in the bunker and 2) whether it is in GUR are two independent determinations. The ball could be in one or the other but it also can be in both. Even if the intent of whomever marked the GUR was that it was only outside the bunker but if the two boundaries were close enough both conditions could certainly apply.

However, from the OP's description, it's not clear how the GUR was marked. He said it was marked but also said:

[quote]It was hard to find an exact edge[/quote]

Was this referring to the edge of the bunker or the edge of the GUR or both? Almost sounds like the edge of the bunker was damaged and that was the cause for the GUR. If that's the case, then the determination on whether it was in the bunker or not could be tricky. An important thing to remember is that: the margin of a bunker (unlike a water hazard) do not extend vertically upward. Typically, if the ball is touching the sand in the bunker then the ball is in the bunker. If it isn't, it's not.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

A more considered opinion. The ball cannot be 30% in the bunker and the rest in GUR. The margins of neither GUR nor the bunker extend upwards and so we are only concerned with where the ball is touching the ground and that has to be either in the bunker on in the GUR. Perhaps the OP is thinking that the overhanging parts of the ball are what you judge by, but they are not.

I am not a mathematician but I expect that the ball could in theory touch the ground on both sides of a one dimensional line between the two areas. In practical terms, however, you should consider that the ball touches the ground at a point. So, take a close look at the ball and determine that it is touching the ground on one side or the other in the same way as you would determine whether a ball is in GUR on its own or in a bunker on its own, or on or off a putting green.

The application of two different sets of rules to one ball just doesn't work. Take the putting green example. If my ball were considered both on and off the green and I lifted it, I would at one and the same time be sanctioned to do so by Rule 16-1b and penalised for doing so by Rule 18-2. It's just not workable.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Colin, No disagreement with your clarification of the boundary definitions and the importance of where the ball actually touches vs part of the ball being over a boundary. However, just a few minor points.

[quote]The application of two different sets of rules to one ball just doesn't work.[/quote]

It has to be able to work.

1) Unlike the example with the green vs "through the green" - which can not overlap, there is nothing in the rules to say that the boundaries of the Bunker and GUR have to match or sync up, they can certainly overlap. The committee can place a GUR boundary anywhere on the course - independent of other boundaries on the course. Also, a spray paint can is not the most precise way to draw a line so an overlap could easily occur even if it wasn't the intent.

2) even if they did not overlap, the ball could be in the bunker and part of the players stance could be in GUR.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Stuart G.' timestamp='1418031599' post='10560967']
[color=#282828]1) The committee can place a GUR boundary anywhere on the course[/quote][/color]

[color=#282828]Pretty pointless to place it in a water hazard :swoon:[/color]

[quote]2) even if they did not overlap, the ball could be in the bunker and part of the players stance could be in GUR.
[/quote]

There is only one rule involved here 25-1b(ii).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Newby' timestamp='1418044585' post='10561249']
[quote name='Stuart G.' timestamp='1418031599' post='10560967']
2) even if they did not overlap, the ball could be in the bunker and part of the players stance could be in GUR.
[/quote]

There is only one rule involved here 25-1b(ii).
[/quote]

Sorry, just need a little clarification - were you implying anything in my post was actually contrary to that (assuming the ball really is in the bunker)?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Colin L' timestamp='1418030225' post='10560955']
A more considered opinion. The ball cannot be 30% in the bunker and the rest in GUR. The margins of neither GUR nor the bunker extend upwards and so we are only concerned with where the ball is touching the ground and that has to be either in the bunker on in the GUR. Perhaps the OP is thinking that the overhanging parts of the ball are what you judge by, but they are not.


[/quote]

Not only is Stuart right that your ball could be in a bunker and your stance in GUR, but if you imagine the bottom center of a ball resting on sand and the outside margin of the ball extending across a grass edge of a GUR line and touching that grass (the grass of course being higher than the ground) it would again be in both. (That's how I imagined the OP's 30%/70% statement to work.)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

A ball can be in two different "sections" of the course at the same time - think of a course where a lateral water hazard borders a bunker and the red line is painted in the bunker. A ball can be laying on sand touching the red line.
Same situation here - the OP says the ball is touching the bunker (30%) and the GUR (70%). So it's in the bunker and in GUR (even if it's not in the GUR, the GUR could interfere with his stance or area of intended swing). In any case of interference, he's entitled to relief under Rule 25-1b(ii). If he's a normal player (wants free relief), he must drop it in the bunker.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Stuart G.' timestamp='1418044927' post='10561257']
[quote name='Newby' timestamp='1418044585' post='10561249']
[quote name='Stuart G.' timestamp='1418031599' post='10560967']
2) even if they did not overlap, the ball could be in the bunker and part of the players stance could be in GUR.
[/quote]

There is only one rule involved here 25-1b(ii).
[/quote]

Sorry, just need a little clarification - were you implying anything in my post was actually contrary to that (assuming the ball really is in the bunker)?
[/quote]

[size=4]No. I was commenting on your response to Colin where he said "[i][color=#282828][background=rgb(247, 247, 247)]The application of two different sets of rules to one ball just doesn't work".[/background][/color][/i][/size]
[size=4][color=#282828]You responded[i] "[/i][/color][i][b][color=#ff0000]It[/color][/b][color=#282828] has to be able to work". (I read [/color][color=#ff0000][b]it [/b][/color][color=#282828]to mean two sets of rules)[/color][/i][/size]
[color=#282828]I was pointing out that in your example there was only one rule (not two sets).[/color]

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Newby' timestamp='1418052401' post='10561779']
[quote name='Stuart G.' timestamp='1418044927' post='10561257']
[quote name='Newby' timestamp='1418044585' post='10561249']
[quote name='Stuart G.' timestamp='1418031599' post='10560967']
2) even if they did not overlap, the ball could be in the bunker and part of the players stance could be in GUR.
[/quote]

There is only one rule involved here 25-1b(ii).
[/quote]

Sorry, just need a little clarification - were you implying anything in my post was actually contrary to that (assuming the ball really is in the bunker)?
[/quote]

[size=4]No. I was commenting on your response to Colin where he said "[i][color=#282828][background=rgb(247, 247, 247)]The application of two different sets of rules to one ball just doesn't work".[/background][/color][/i][/size]
[size=4][color=#282828]You responded[i] "[/i][/color][i][b][color=#ff0000]It[/color][/b][color=#282828] has to be able to work". (I read [/color][color=#ff0000][b]it [/b][/color][color=#282828]to mean two sets of rules)[/color][/i][/size]
[color=#282828]I was pointing out that in your example there was only one rule (not two sets).[/color]
[/quote]

Thanks for the clarification. I was actually referring to "it" as the ROG in general working in the context of two conditions not two separate rules but then I also admit I did miss that detail of Colin's post.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

in tournament play you can always play 2 balls and check with the committee afterwards.

Ping G400 Max AD IZ 6s
2016 TI M2 HL AD IZ 7s
M2 4h AD DI 8s
Ping G400 5hy ADDI 9s
718 TMB 6-Gap Modus 130s
Scratch 53 Modus 125
Scratch 57 Modus 125
PXG 03x 60* Modus 125

Scotty Cameron Custom 009 HHH




[url="http://www.golfwrx.com/forums/topic/982109-joes-witb-set-for-2014-update-2015/#entry10682349"]WITB Link[/url]

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='rogolf' timestamp='1418049301' post='10561535']
A ball can be in two different "sections" of the course at the same time - think of a course where a lateral water hazard borders a bunker and the red line is painted in the bunker. A ball can be laying on sand touching the red line.
Same situation here - the OP says the ball is touching the bunker (30%) and the GUR (70%). So it's in the bunker and in GUR (even if it's not in the GUR, the GUR could interfere with his stance or area of intended swing). In any case of interference, he's entitled to relief under Rule 25-1b(ii). If he's a normal player (wants free relief), he must drop it in the bunker.
[/quote]

I think we are talking about different situations and not really at odds. My contention that the ball had to be in either GUR or the bunker was based on the premise that the margins of the GUR and the bunker were immediately adjacent to each other- side by side with no gap between and no overlap. Perhaps that's not what the OP meant. If the GUR line was in the bunker, that as you say is a different matter. A ball in casual water in GUR comes to mind as another example.

I am reminded of the Edinburgh story of two women at first floor windows on opposite sides of a street having a heated argument. "These two will never agree," observed a passer-by, "They are arguing from different premises."

Sorry - my coat is on already. :rolleyes:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Bingo1976' timestamp='1418012917' post='10560475']
Quick dilemma here. Was playing a round on Saturday (4ball matchplay). My tee shot finds the edge of a bunker with a worn front edge which then went into marked GUR. It was hard to find an exact edge (hence the GUR, but I would say that 30% of the ball was in the bunker, and the rest was GUR. I ended up playing it as it lied. Was I right?
[/quote]Play 2 balls, check with committee after. But playing it as it lies is always a "right" decision!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Sawgrass' timestamp='1418048074' post='10561421']
.....if you imagine the bottom center of a ball resting on sand and the outside margin of the ball extending across a grass edge of a GUR line and touching that grass (the grass of course being higher than the ground) it would again be in both.......
[/quote]

Are you saying that the ball in this illustration is not on the green because a bit of it is touching the long grass?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Colin L' timestamp='1418055894' post='10562037']
[quote name='Sawgrass' timestamp='1418048074' post='10561421']
.....if you imagine the bottom center of a ball resting on sand and the outside margin of the ball extending across a grass edge of a GUR line and touching that grass (the grass of course being higher than the ground) it would again be in both.......
[/quote]

Are you saying that the ball in this illustration is not on the green because a bit of it is touching the long grass?
[/quote]

I said nothing about a ball being on a green, the topic of which I view as a distraction at this time.

What I was in fact saying is that your position stated in your post #5 is wrong. Since in that post you were getting down to "mathematics" I'll say that if you measure closely enough, no lie is flat, and the orb of a ball is capable of touching two things at once -- and that's particularly easy to do when Ground Under Repair includes all grass within it (among other things) and grass is far from one dimensional and certainly not likely to be on the same plane as the sand in the bunker.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Sawgrass' timestamp='1418048074' post='10561421']
[quote name='Colin L' timestamp='1418030225' post='10560955']
A more considered opinion. The ball cannot be 30% in the bunker and the rest in GUR. The margins of neither GUR nor the bunker extend upwards and so we are only concerned with where the ball is touching the ground and that has to be either in the bunker on in the GUR. Perhaps the OP is thinking that the overhanging parts of the ball are what you judge by, but they are not.


[/quote]

Not only is Stuart right that your ball could be in a bunker and your stance in GUR, but if you imagine the bottom center of a ball resting on sand and the outside margin of the ball extending across a grass edge of a GUR line and touching that grass (the grass of course being higher than the ground) it would again be in both. (That's how I imagined the OP's 30%/70% statement to work.)
[/quote]

Some calrification - the ball was, to my mind, on the edge of the bunker. The GUR was marked outside of the bunker by the usual white line, but the edge of the bunker was a raggedy mess of grass and sand, and that is where the ball was. One foot was in GUR, one was in sand to play any legitimate shot, the ball had sand behind it that was impacting the strike.

Now, this was only a friendly match, so no committee involved other than the other cart. I had 3 options it seems - drop in bunker, drop on the grass outside of the GUR, not nearer the hole, and play it as it lies. I chose the latter, took 7 and lost the hole to a 4, so it was probably a moot point (especially as I jammed a 10 footer in on 18 to win 1 up, but I was sondering what to do in a proper match or strokeplay event.

[color=#A4A4A4][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif][size=2]Srixon z565 Speeder 569 Evo IV SR[/size][/font][/color]
[color=#A4A4A4][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif][size=2]TaylorMade RBZ 3 wood, [/size][/font][/color][color=#A4A4A4][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif][size=2]Matrix Ozik R[/size][/font][/color]
[font="helvetica, arial, sans-serif"][color="#a4a4a4"][size=2]Srixon U65 2 iron, Miyazaki S[/size][/color][/font]
[color=#A4A4A4][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif][size=2]Cobra F6 Hybrid 22 degrees RedTie S[/size][/font][/color]
[color=#A4A4A4][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif][size=2]Srixon z945 5-pw w/ DG s200[/size][/font][/color]
[color=#A4A4A4][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif][size=2]Miura Y 51 and K 56 DG Spinner, Yururi Raw 61 KBS [/size][/font][/color][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif][color=#a4a4a4][size=2]HiRev[/size][/color][/font]
[font="helvetica, arial, sans-serif"][color="#a4a4a4"][size=2]Odyssey O-Works Black 34"[/size][/color][/font]

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Bingo, here's the complete definition of a bunker. We don't have a picture of your situation in our heads like you do. If the ball is touching the sand or bare earth that's part of a bunker then it's in the bunker. If it was simply on grass at the edge of the bunker then it was not.

Bunker
A “bunker’’ is a hazard consisting of a prepared area of ground, often a hollow, from which turf or soil has been removed and replaced with sand or the like.

Grass-covered ground bordering or within a bunker, including a stacked turf face (whether grass-covered or earthen), is not part of the bunker. A wall or lip of the bunker not covered with grass is part of the bunker. The margin of a bunker extends vertically downwards, but not upwards.

A ball is in a bunker when it lies in or any part of it touches the bunker

All that considered, was it in or out?

Edit: by the way, if it's too hard a call to make as to whether the ball is in or out of the bunker you can either ask an official on the spot, play two balls and ask later if it's stroke play and if you follow the proper procedure, or do what you did and play it as it lies. When it's impractical or impossible to involve an official I'd take the high road and play it as it lies as you did -- whether it's a formal tournament or not.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Sawgrass' timestamp='1418101779' post='10565913']
Bingo, here's the complete definition of a bunker. We don't have a picture of your situation in our heads like you do. If the ball is touching the sand or bare earth that's part of a bunker then it's in the bunker. If it was simply on grass at the edge of the bunker then it was not.

Bunker
A "bunker'' is a hazard consisting of a prepared area of ground, often a hollow, from which turf or soil has been removed and replaced with sand or the like.

Grass-covered ground bordering or within a bunker, including a stacked turf face (whether grass-covered or earthen), is not part of the bunker. A wall or lip of the bunker not covered with grass is part of the bunker. The margin of a bunker extends vertically downwards, but not upwards.

A ball is in a bunker when it lies in or any part of it touches the bunker

All that considered, was it in or out?

Edit: by the way, if it's too hard a call to make as to whether the ball is in or out of the bunker you can either ask an official on the spot, [b]play two balls and ask later [/b]if it's stroke play and if you follow the proper procedure, or do what you did and play it as it lies. When it's impractical or impossible to involve an official I'd take the high road and play it as it lies as you did -- whether it's a formal tournament or not.
[/quote]

Original post said match play. There is no option to play two balls in match play. Do what you think is right, and if your opponents don't agree, it's up to them to make a claim (Rule 2-5). A second ball played in match play is a wrong ball - the player loses the hole (since it was 4 ball match play, he is dq'd for the hole).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Sawgrass' timestamp='1418101779' post='10565913']
Bingo, here's the complete definition of a bunker. We don't have a picture of your situation in our heads like you do. If the ball is touching the sand or bare earth that's part of a bunker then it's in the bunker. If it was simply on grass at the edge of the bunker then it was not.

Bunker
A “bunker’’ is a hazard consisting of a prepared area of ground, often a hollow, from which turf or soil has been removed and replaced with sand or the like.

Grass-covered ground bordering or within a bunker, including a stacked turf face (whether grass-covered or earthen), is not part of the bunker. A wall or lip of the bunker not covered with grass is part of the bunker. The margin of a bunker extends vertically downwards, but not upwards.

A ball is in a bunker when it lies in or any part of it touches the bunker

All that considered, was it in or out?

Edit: by the way, if it's too hard a call to make as to whether the ball is in or out of the bunker you can either ask an official on the spot, play two balls and ask later if it's stroke play and if you follow the proper procedure, or do what you did and play it as it lies. When it's impractical or impossible to involve an official I'd take the high road and play it as it lies as you did -- whether it's a formal tournament or not.
[/quote]

Ok, by that definition, I'd agree it was in the bunker, but only by a couple of dimples. There was no face as such, just a messy meeting of sand and grass.

So even though my stance is in the GUR, the GUR does not count, and I could only proceed by taking an unplayable and dropping in the bunker from an extra shot?

[color=#A4A4A4][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif][size=2]Srixon z565 Speeder 569 Evo IV SR[/size][/font][/color]
[color=#A4A4A4][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif][size=2]TaylorMade RBZ 3 wood, [/size][/font][/color][color=#A4A4A4][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif][size=2]Matrix Ozik R[/size][/font][/color]
[font="helvetica, arial, sans-serif"][color="#a4a4a4"][size=2]Srixon U65 2 iron, Miyazaki S[/size][/color][/font]
[color=#A4A4A4][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif][size=2]Cobra F6 Hybrid 22 degrees RedTie S[/size][/font][/color]
[color=#A4A4A4][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif][size=2]Srixon z945 5-pw w/ DG s200[/size][/font][/color]
[color=#A4A4A4][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif][size=2]Miura Y 51 and K 56 DG Spinner, Yururi Raw 61 KBS [/size][/font][/color][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif][color=#a4a4a4][size=2]HiRev[/size][/color][/font]
[font="helvetica, arial, sans-serif"][color="#a4a4a4"][size=2]Odyssey O-Works Black 34"[/size][/color][/font]

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='Bingo1976' timestamp='1418125938' post='10566281']
So even though my stance is in the GUR, the GUR does not count, and I could only proceed by taking an unplayable and dropping in the bunker from an extra shot?
[/quote]

If your stance is in GUR you are still allowed relief under 25-1 (b). It's just that because your ball is in the bunker, your options are different for relief from GUR than they would be if the ball had not been in the bunker. The rule has been quoted a few times so I wont repeat it. The specific options Sawgrass quoted in post #2 are the options you have when the ball is in the bunker.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[quote name='rogolf' timestamp='1418104864' post='10566031']
[quote name='Sawgrass' timestamp='1418101779' post='10565913']
Bingo, here's the complete definition of a bunker. We don't have a picture of your situation in our heads like you do. If the ball is touching the sand or bare earth that's part of a bunker then it's in the bunker. If it was simply on grass at the edge of the bunker then it was not.

Bunker
A "bunker'' is a hazard consisting of a prepared area of ground, often a hollow, from which turf or soil has been removed and replaced with sand or the like.

Grass-covered ground bordering or within a bunker, including a stacked turf face (whether grass-covered or earthen), is not part of the bunker. A wall or lip of the bunker not covered with grass is part of the bunker. The margin of a bunker extends vertically downwards, but not upwards.

A ball is in a bunker when it lies in or any part of it touches the bunker

All that considered, was it in or out?

Edit: by the way, if it's too hard a call to make as to whether the ball is in or out of the bunker you can either ask an official on the spot, [b]play two balls and ask later [/b]if it's stroke play and if you follow the proper procedure, or do what you did and play it as it lies. When it's impractical or impossible to involve an official I'd take the high road and play it as it lies as you did -- whether it's a formal tournament or not.
[/quote]

Original post said match play. There is no option to play two balls in match play. Do what you think is right, and if your opponents don't agree, it's up to them to make a claim (Rule 2-5). A second ball played in match play is a wrong ball - the player loses the hole (since it was 4 ball match play, he is dq'd for the hole).
[/quote]

Yes, the original post did say match, but to be clear in Bingo's post #21 directly preceding mine he asked about stroke play as well: [color="#282828"] " . . . [/color][color=#282828] what to do in a proper match or strokeplay event."[/color]

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Our picks

    • 2025 Wyndham Championship - Discussion and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 Wyndham Championship - Tuesday #1
      2025 Wyndham Championship - Tuesday #2
      2025 Wyndham Championship - Tuesday #3
       
       
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Chandler Phillips - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Davis Riley - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Scotty Kennon - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Austin Duncan - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Will Chandler - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Kevin Roy - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Ben Griffin - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Peter Malnati - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Ryan Gerard - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Adam Schenk - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Kurt Kitayama - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Camilo Villegas - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Matti Schmid - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
       
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Denny McCarthy's custom Cameron putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Swag Golf putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Karl Vilips TM MG5 wedges - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      New Bettinardi putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Matt Fitzpatrick's custom Bettinardi putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Cameron putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
        • Thanks
      • 7 replies
    • 2025 3M Open - Discussion and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 3M Open - Tuesday #1
      2025 3M Open - Tuesday #2
      2025 3M Open - Tuesday #3
      2025 3M Open - Tuesday #4
       
       
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Luke List - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Isaiah Salinda - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Akshay Bhatia - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Kaito Onishi - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Chris Gotterup - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Rickie Fowler - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Seamus Power - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Chris Kirk - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Vince Whaley - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Andrew Putnam - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      David Lipsky - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Thomas Campbell - Minnesota PGA Section Champ - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Max Herendeen - WITB - 2025 3M Open
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Rickie's custom Joe Powell persimmon driver - 2025 3M Open
      Custom Cameron T-9.5 - 2025 3M Open
      Tom Kim's custom prototype Cameron putter - 2025 3M Open
      New Cameron prototype putters - 2025 3M Open
      Zak Blair's latest Scotty acquisition - 2025 3M Open
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
      • 5 replies
    • 2025 The Open Championship - Discussions and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 The Open Championship - Sunday #1
      2025 The Open Championship – Monday #1
      2025 The Open Championship - Monday #2
      2025 Open Championship – Monday #3
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Cobra's 153rd Open Championship staff bag - 2025 The Open Championship
      Srixon's 153rd Open Championship staff bag - 2025 The Open Championship
      Scotty Cameron 2025 Open Championship putter covers - 2025 The Open Championship
      TaylorMade's 153rd Open Championship staff bag - 2025 The Open Championship
      Shane Lowry - testing a couple of Cameron putters - 2025 The Open Championship
      New Scotty Cameron Phantom Black putters(and new cover & grip) - 2025 The Open Championship
       
       
       




















       
       
       
       
        • Like
      • 26 replies
    • 2025 Genesis Scottish Open - Discussion and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 Genesis Scottish Open - Monday #1
      2025 Genesis Scottish Open - Tuesday #1
      2025 Genesis Scottish Open - Tuesday #2
       
       
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Adrian Otaegui - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Luke Donald - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Haotong Li - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Callum Hill - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Johannes Veerman - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Dale Whitnell - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Martin Couvra - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Daniel Hillier - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Angel Hidalgo Portillo - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Simon Forsstrom - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      J.H. Lee - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Marcel Schneider - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Ugo Coussaud - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Todd Clements - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Shaun Norris - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Marco Penge - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Nicolai Von Dellingshausen - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Hong Taek Kim - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Julien Guerrier - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Richie Ramsey - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Keita Nakajima's TaylorMade P-8CB irons - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Keita Nakajima - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Francesco Laporta - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Aaron Cockerill - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Sebastian Soderberg - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Connor Syme - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Jeff Winther - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Woo Young Cho - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Bernd Wiesberger - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Andy Sullivan - WITB 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Jacques Kruyswijk - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Pablo Larrazabal - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Thriston Lawrence - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Darius Van Driel - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Grant Forrest - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Jordan Gumberg - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Nacho Elvira - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Romain Langasque - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Dan Bradbury - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Yannik Paul - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Ashun Wu - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Alex Del Rey - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Collin Morikawa's custom Taylor-Made gamer - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Collin Morikawa's custom Taylor-Made putter (back-up??) - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      New TaylorMade P-UDI (Stinger Squadron cover) - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Rory's custom Joe Powell (Career Slam) persimmon driver & cover - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Keita Nakajima's TaylorMade P-8CB irons - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Tommy Fleetwood's son Mo's TM putter - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
      • 20 replies
    • 2025 John Deere Classic - Discussion and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 John Deere Classic - Monday #1
      2025 John Deere Classic - Monday #2
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Carson Young - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Zac Blair - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Anders Albertson - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Jay Giannetto - Iowa PGA Section Champ - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      John Pak - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Brendan Valdes - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Cristobal del Solar - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Dylan Frittelli - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Justin Lowers new Cameron putter - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Bettinardi new Core Carbon putters - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Cameron putter - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Cameron putter covers - 2025 John Deere Classic
       
       
       
       
       
       
        • Like
      • 2 replies

×
×
  • Create New...