Jump to content
2025 Members Choice voting is now open! Vote now for your favorite gear! ×

Which rule is broken here?


Recommended Posts

Playing competitor, on the tee box, places a ballmark or tee in front and outside his ball.  ("at 1:30 on the clock", so to speak where 12:00 is the target, about 2 inches away from his ball).  He was trying to remind himself to do make an in-to-out swing.  Is it 4.3.a?  10.2.b?  A different one?

 

(I said something to my friend who was doing this--and he blew his top.  But that's a different story...)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

He's in violation of 4.3a(6).

 

(6) Stretching Devices and Training or Swing Aids.
•• Allowed.
»» Using any equipment for general stretching (other than in making a practice
swing), whether the equipment is designed for stretching, for use in golf
(such as an alignment rod placed across the shoulders) or for any purpose
unrelated to golf (such as rubber tubing or a section of pipe).
•• Not Allowed.
»» Using any type of golf training or swing aid (such as an alignment rod or
a weighted headcover or “donut”) or a non-conforming club to make a
practice swing or in any other way that creates a potential advantage by
helping the player in preparing for or making a stroke (such as help with
swing plane, grip, alignment, ball position or posture).

Edited by jvincent

Cobra DS-Adapt LS 10.5: Graphite Design Tour AD UB-7S (Backup: Cobra DS-Adapt X 10.5* : Ventus Red TR 7S)

Titleist TSR2 4W : Oban Kiyoshi Purple 75-S

Mizuno ST MAX 19*: Ventus Blue HB-8S

Mizuno ST MAX 22*: Recoil 95 F5

Wilson Staff CB 5-PW : Nippon Modus3 130-S

Cleveland RTX Zipcore 50, 54, 58: Nippon Modus3 115 Wedge

Meridian Tybee - 34"

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The easy call is it is a general penalty breach the first time it happens. As to which rule is breached, there is nothing for these precise actions but there are two rules which come very close, one being 4.3a(6), as discussed above.

I slightly favour an authority of 20.3/10.2b(3). The player has set down an object to assist in aligning the swing plane, and I see that as so close to 10.2b(3) as to be virtually indistinguishable.

Does it matter? A little. If 4.3 is the authority, the second instance gets DQ; if 10.2b is the authority, there is a general penalty every time it happens.

 

 

  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Curious about this.  The subsections of 4.3a, like 4.3a(6), are just non-exhaustive examples, right?  Is there any doubt that this use of a tee breaches one or both of the general prohibitions of 4.3a?

 

a player must not create a potential advantage by:

  • Using equipment (other than a club or a ball) that artificially eliminates or reduces the need for a skill or judgment that is essential to the challenge of the game, or
  • Using equipment (including a club or a ball) in an abnormal way in making a stroke. “Abnormal way” means a way that is fundamentally different than its intended use and is not normally recognized as part of playing the game.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 hours ago, antip said:

The easy call is it is a general penalty breach the first time it happens. As to which rule is breached, there is nothing for these precise actions but there are two rules which come very close, one being 4.3a(6), as discussed above.

I slightly favour an authority of 20.3/10.2b(3). The player has set down an object to assist in aligning the swing plane, and I see that as so close to 10.2b(3) as to be virtually indistinguishable.

Does it matter? A little. If 4.3 is the authority, the second instance gets DQ; if 10.2b is the authority, there is a general penalty every time it happens.

 

 

 

I cannot really see how it could be anything else than 10.2b(3). It is a classic example of setting down an object to assist the player in his swing.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 minutes ago, jimbo123 said:

Can it be both (and then 4.3a is what matters, as it has the more severe penalty)?

 

I have severe difficulties accepting use of 4.3a here.

 

I remember the discussion of tethered tees both before and after 2019. The potential breach was of 8-2a before and 10.2b(3) after. The difference here is that the mark OP was talking about does not indicate the line of play but it indicates the swing path which IMO would be included in the purpose of the Rule in question.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 hours ago, jimbo123 said:

Curious about this.  The subsections of 4.3a, like 4.3a(6), are just non-exhaustive examples, right?  Is there any doubt that this use of a tee breaches one or both of the general prohibitions of 4.3a?

 

a player must not create a potential advantage by:

  • Using equipment (other than a club or a ball) that artificially eliminates or reduces the need for a skill or judgment that is essential to the challenge of the game, or
  • Using equipment (including a club or a ball) in an abnormal way in making a stroke. “Abnormal way” means a way that is fundamentally different than its intended use and is not normally recognized as part of playing the game.

Don't disagree. But if an action fits under a general rules provision and also fits under a more specific one, the authority will normally only be the more specific one. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

5 minutes ago, Mr. Bean said:

 

I have severe difficulties accepting use of 4.3a here.

 

I remember the discussion of tethered tees both before and after 2019. The potential breach was of 8-2a before and 10.2b(3) after. The difference here is that the mark OP was talking about does not indicate the line of play but it indicates the swing path which IMO would be included in the purpose of the Rule in question.

Interesting.  I’m sure you’re not surprised that I don’t quite follow, so please help me further if you’re able 🙂  .

 

It seems like using a tee in this abnormal way breaches the wording and spirit of 4.3a.  Example (6) makes explicit that one purpose of 4.3a is to address advantage gained by assisting with swing plane.  It just uses a different piece of equipment for an example.  So I’m really unsure why 4.3a is not applicable? 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

26 minutes ago, jimbo123 said:

Can it be both (and then 4.3a is what matters, as it has the more severe penalty)?

As a general point, if a lesser and a stronger penalty are equally applicable, the rules will normally assign the lesser. 1.3c(4)/2 provides different kind of examples eg, move ball (1SP) and improve conditions (2SP). What we are discussing is about whether 4.3 or 10.2b is the best fit, not levying a penalty under both.

Edited by antip
additional comment
Link to comment
Share on other sites

10 minutes ago, jimbo123 said:

Interesting.  I’m sure you’re not surprised that I don’t quite follow, so please help me further if you’re able 🙂  .

 

It seems like using a tee in this abnormal way breaches the wording and spirit of 4.3a.  Example (6) makes explicit that one purpose of 4.3a is to address advantage gained by assisting with swing plane.  It just uses a different piece of equipment for an example.  So I’m really unsure why 4.3a is not applicable? 

 

I believe antip answered this:

 

'But if an action fits under a general rules provision and also fits under a more specific one, the authority will normally only be the more specific one. '

  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Thanks for all the helpful elaborations.  One final question - it seems like the example given in 4.3a(6) regarding using an object to help with alignment would also breach 10.2b. Given everything above, it sounds like 10.2b is the appropriate rule to apply.  Is that not a very strange thing?  That a rule gives an example, even though it is not the appropriate rule to apply in that situation? 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 minutes ago, jimbo123 said:

Thanks for all the helpful elaborations.  One final question - it seems like the example given in 4.3a(6) regarding using an object to help with alignment would also breach 10.2b. Given everything above, it sounds like 10.2b is the appropriate rule to apply.  Is that not a very strange thing?  That a rule gives an example, even though it is not the appropriate rule to apply in that situation? 

If a player uses an alignment rod to align his feet for a stroke, I'm going to breach under 4.3a(6). If a player uses a club to align their feet for a stroke then I'm going to breach under 10.2b(3). 

  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

9 minutes ago, antip said:

If a player uses an alignment rod to align his feet for a stroke, I'm going to breach under 4.3a(6). If a player uses a club to align their feet for a stroke then I'm going to breach under 10.2b(3). 

 

That is the route I would take as well. However, this entire issue is slightly confusing as R4.3a deals with not only unusual equipment but also normal equipment used in an abnormal way. Laying down a club to indicate the line of play used to be a traditional way of using a club and thus accepted but today that is no longer allowed. So, if a player lays down a club to indicate the line of play would that be abnormal use of a club or would it still be 'traditionally accepted' ?

 

I have no answer to that and that leads us back to the original question of using a tee or a ball-marker for the same purpose. Confusing....

Link to comment
Share on other sites

24 minutes ago, Mr. Bean said:

 

That is the route I would take as well. However, this entire issue is slightly confusing as R4.3a deals with not only unusual equipment but also normal equipment used in an abnormal way. Laying down a club to indicate the line of play used to be a traditional way of using a club and thus accepted but today that is no longer allowed. So, if a player lays down a club to indicate the line of play would that be abnormal use of a club or would it still be 'traditionally accepted' ?

 

I have no answer to that and that leads us back to the original question of using a tee or a ball-marker for the same purpose. Confusing....

You can lay down a club to indicate line of play (except on putting green) - specifically permitted by 10.2b(1). But you cannot use it to assist in taking a stance, breach of 10.2b(3).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, antip said:

You can lay down a club to indicate line of play (except on putting green) - specifically permitted by 10.2b(1). But you cannot use it to assist in taking a stance, breach of 10.2b(3).

 

You are right, my memory serves poorly. However, the question still remains, is laying a club down to assist in taking stance 'traditional use'. I guess so, as it can be used to indicate the line of play. Or what do you say?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

17 minutes ago, Mr. Bean said:

 

You are right, my memory serves poorly. However, the question still remains, is laying a club down to assist in taking stance 'traditional use'. I guess so, as it can be used to indicate the line of play. Or what do you say?

I simply note "traditional use" or "traditionally accepted" no longer appears in the Rules, Interpretations or Committee Procedures, such reference has gone the way of the dinosaurs. The second bullet point in 4.3a alludes to a similar principle but I can see no specific examples like before. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

10 hours ago, jvincent said:

He's in violation of 4.3a(6).

 

(6) Stretching Devices and Training or Swing Aids.
•• Allowed.
»» Using any equipment for general stretching (other than in making a practice
swing), whether the equipment is designed for stretching, for use in golf
(such as an alignment rod placed across the shoulders) or for any purpose
unrelated to golf (such as rubber tubing or a section of pipe).
•• Not Allowed.
»» Using any type of golf training or swing aid (such as an alignment rod or
a weighted headcover or “donut”) or a non-conforming club to make a
practice swing or in any other way that creates a potential advantage by
helping the player in preparing for or making a stroke (such as help with
swing plane, grip, alignment, ball position or posture).

 

 

Is that allowed on the first tee box?  I know a handful of guys getting their donut work in there.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

28 minutes ago, antip said:

I simply note "traditional use" or "traditionally accepted" no longer appears in the Rules, Interpretations or Committee Procedures, such reference has gone the way of the dinosaurs. The second bullet point in 4.3a alludes to a similar principle but I can see no specific examples like before. 

 

Indeed, but how would you justify your differentiating an alignment rod from a club when used to assist taking the stance? One is an equipment and the other is not? What?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

41 minutes ago, Mr. Bean said:

 

Indeed, but how would you justify your differentiating an alignment rod from a club when used to assist taking the stance? One is an equipment and the other is not? What?

I justify because of the specificity of the reference relating to alignment rod in 4.3, which was seeking to carefully state something that had explicitly changed from the previous rules. I don't believe the current split between 4.3 and 10.2b is perfect, but I can see how we got here.

  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 minute ago, LeoLeo99 said:

I interpreted first tee box to mean first hole.  🙂

I understand, but it just said 'tee box', no reference to 'first' or to which hole. If OP is explicitly asking about the first tee, IMO it is clear that 4.3 has no relevance there (although it applies to every other tee box), but rule 10 is more complicated and unclear - it does not have a blanket 'during the round' restriction - other than in the advice space (10.2a). Many of the other rules breaches in rule 10 carry into the stroke itself so they are not 'completed' before the round starts in the way you can cease playing with the donut. I suspect there is some good food for thought here and possibly some interesting rulings may be needed to unravel the interplay between some of the sub-elements of rule 10 and their possible impact on that first counting stroke of the round.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

ALL THE RULES!

 

(I'm a "belt and suspenders" kind of guy when it comes to the rulebook)

Driver #1: Titleist TS3, 8.5°

Driver #2: TaylorMade M3, 10.5°

Fairway: Titleist 917 F2, 16.5°

Utility: Mizuno Pro 225, 16.5°

Irons: MacGregor Tourney Custom International Edition "the 985", 24° - 52°

Sand Wedge: Taylormade MG 1, 56°
Putter: Seemore FGP Bronze, 35"
Ball: Maxfli Tour
Bag: Ping Mascot

Link to comment
Share on other sites

15 minutes ago, antip said:

I understand, but it just said 'tee box', no reference to 'first' or to which hole. If OP is explicitly asking about the first tee, IMO it is clear that 4.3 has no relevance there (although it applies to every other tee box), but rule 10 is more complicated and unclear - it does not have a blanket 'during the round' restriction - other than in the advice space (10.2a). Many of the other rules breaches in rule 10 carry into the stroke itself so they are not 'completed' before the round starts in the way you can cease playing with the donut. I suspect there is some good food for thought here and possibly some interesting rulings may be needed to unravel the interplay between some of the sub-elements of rule 10 and their possible impact on that first counting stroke of the round.

 
My reply was addressed to sekrah whose post I quoted and he/she clearly wrote first tee box.  

 

1 hour ago, sekrah said:

 

 

Is that allowed on the first tee box?  I know a handful of guys getting their donut work in there.

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Our picks

    • 2025 Wyndham Championship - Discussion and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 Wyndham Championship - Tuesday #1
      2025 Wyndham Championship - Tuesday #2
      2025 Wyndham Championship - Tuesday #3
       
       
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Chandler Phillips - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Davis Riley - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Scotty Kennon - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Austin Duncan - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Will Chandler - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Kevin Roy - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Ben Griffin - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Peter Malnati - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Ryan Gerard - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Adam Schenk - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Kurt Kitayama - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Camilo Villegas - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Matti Schmid - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
       
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Denny McCarthy's custom Cameron putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Swag Golf putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Karl Vilips TM MG5 wedges - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      New Bettinardi putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Matt Fitzpatrick's custom Bettinardi putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Cameron putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
        • Like
      • 7 replies
    • 2025 3M Open - Discussion and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 3M Open - Tuesday #1
      2025 3M Open - Tuesday #2
      2025 3M Open - Tuesday #3
      2025 3M Open - Tuesday #4
       
       
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Luke List - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Isaiah Salinda - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Akshay Bhatia - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Kaito Onishi - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Chris Gotterup - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Rickie Fowler - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Seamus Power - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Chris Kirk - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Vince Whaley - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Andrew Putnam - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      David Lipsky - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Thomas Campbell - Minnesota PGA Section Champ - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Max Herendeen - WITB - 2025 3M Open
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Rickie's custom Joe Powell persimmon driver - 2025 3M Open
      Custom Cameron T-9.5 - 2025 3M Open
      Tom Kim's custom prototype Cameron putter - 2025 3M Open
      New Cameron prototype putters - 2025 3M Open
      Zak Blair's latest Scotty acquisition - 2025 3M Open
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
      • 5 replies
    • 2025 The Open Championship - Discussions and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 The Open Championship - Sunday #1
      2025 The Open Championship – Monday #1
      2025 The Open Championship - Monday #2
      2025 Open Championship – Monday #3
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Cobra's 153rd Open Championship staff bag - 2025 The Open Championship
      Srixon's 153rd Open Championship staff bag - 2025 The Open Championship
      Scotty Cameron 2025 Open Championship putter covers - 2025 The Open Championship
      TaylorMade's 153rd Open Championship staff bag - 2025 The Open Championship
      Shane Lowry - testing a couple of Cameron putters - 2025 The Open Championship
      New Scotty Cameron Phantom Black putters(and new cover & grip) - 2025 The Open Championship
       
       
       




















       
       
       
       
        • Haha
        • Like
      • 26 replies
    • 2025 Genesis Scottish Open - Discussion and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 Genesis Scottish Open - Monday #1
      2025 Genesis Scottish Open - Tuesday #1
      2025 Genesis Scottish Open - Tuesday #2
       
       
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Adrian Otaegui - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Luke Donald - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Haotong Li - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Callum Hill - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Johannes Veerman - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Dale Whitnell - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Martin Couvra - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Daniel Hillier - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Angel Hidalgo Portillo - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Simon Forsstrom - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      J.H. Lee - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Marcel Schneider - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Ugo Coussaud - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Todd Clements - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Shaun Norris - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Marco Penge - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Nicolai Von Dellingshausen - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Hong Taek Kim - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Julien Guerrier - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Richie Ramsey - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Keita Nakajima's TaylorMade P-8CB irons - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Keita Nakajima - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Francesco Laporta - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Aaron Cockerill - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Sebastian Soderberg - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Connor Syme - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Jeff Winther - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Woo Young Cho - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Bernd Wiesberger - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Andy Sullivan - WITB 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Jacques Kruyswijk - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Pablo Larrazabal - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Thriston Lawrence - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Darius Van Driel - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Grant Forrest - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Jordan Gumberg - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Nacho Elvira - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Romain Langasque - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Dan Bradbury - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Yannik Paul - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Ashun Wu - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Alex Del Rey - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Collin Morikawa's custom Taylor-Made gamer - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Collin Morikawa's custom Taylor-Made putter (back-up??) - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      New TaylorMade P-UDI (Stinger Squadron cover) - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Rory's custom Joe Powell (Career Slam) persimmon driver & cover - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Keita Nakajima's TaylorMade P-8CB irons - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Tommy Fleetwood's son Mo's TM putter - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
      • 20 replies
    • 2025 John Deere Classic - Discussion and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 John Deere Classic - Monday #1
      2025 John Deere Classic - Monday #2
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Carson Young - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Zac Blair - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Anders Albertson - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Jay Giannetto - Iowa PGA Section Champ - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      John Pak - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Brendan Valdes - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Cristobal del Solar - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Dylan Frittelli - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Justin Lowers new Cameron putter - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Bettinardi new Core Carbon putters - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Cameron putter - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Cameron putter covers - 2025 John Deere Classic
       
       
       
       
       
       
      • 2 replies

×
×
  • Create New...