Jump to content
2025 Members Choice voting is now open! Vote now for your favorite gear! ×

Correcting drop while using E-5.


Augster

Recommended Posts

This happened yesterday. Player loses his ball down the right and after his 3 minute search, elects to take E5 in the fairway. 
 

He drops within 2CL’s of the edge at his estimated point. After the drop, but before he plays it, a guy on another hole calls over and says he found the ball. It was about 40 yards ahead of the player’s estimated point. 
 

Does the player get to drop again, further up, after the new information? I know for lateral PA’s, I found the clarification but can’t find it right now, when there is new info you drop in the correct place. 
 

Thanks for the help. 
 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Interesting question, 14.5 does require correcting a mistake if it becomes known that he's not in the Relief Area, based on the new information.  If the dropped ball is not in the acceptable Relief Area, I'd say he must correct it.  However, the Relief Area under E-5 is huge, so even if he's 40 yards back he may still be in an acceptable location.  If so, I'd say he has to play from that spot.  Thats my opinion, but I don't think its clear in the rules.

  • Like 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

7 hours ago, davep043 said:

Interesting question, 14.5 does require correcting a mistake if it becomes known that he's not in the Relief Area, based on the new information.  If the dropped ball is not in the acceptable Relief Area, I'd say he must correct it.  However, the Relief Area under E-5 is huge, so even if he's 40 yards back he may still be in an acceptable location.  If so, I'd say he has to play from that spot.  Thats my opinion, but I don't think its clear in the rules.

Thanks for the help Dave!


Looking at the E5 relief diagrams, in this case for sure, his original drop in the fairway would have been outside the new relief area based on the known location of the lost ball. 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

17 minutes ago, antip said:

This is a classic situation - a scenario on which there is no official advice - so a Committee can decide whatever they think is a fair thing. Dave has expressed his Committee view 🙂, and I agree with his observation that 17.1d(3)/2 is not directly applicable here.

Thanks for finding that! I had it the other day and for the life of me I couldn’t find it again. I took a screen grab of it so I know I’ll be able to find it in the future. 🙂

 

IF 17.1d(3)/2 is applicable to the E5 situation, the player MUST redrop in the new relief area. 
 

Aren’t there only 3 situations in ROG where a player just uses his best guess as to where the ball is, or crossed a boundary or a PA line? E5, PA KVC, and ball at rest moved by outside agency? (There maybe others, it’s late.) Shouldn’t 17.1d(3)/2 be applicable to all of them? 
 

We have tons of blind landing areas, and as we transition to fall, we’ll be using E5 more and more with leaves on the ground. It’d be nice to get this clarified. I may need to write the USGA. 
 

Thanks for the help!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yep. Agreed. The applicable part is: 

Quote

However, if the player becomes aware that the reference point is wrong before making a stroke, they must correct the mistake.

 

Still have to take the drop and take the 2 stroke penalty and the drop in the now proper location.

  • Like 1

Ping 430Max 10k | Callaway UW 17 & 21 | Srixon ZX5 Irons (5-PW) | Ping S159 48/52/56/60 | Mizuno OMOI T6

Link to comment
Share on other sites

But for me the key learning here is that, since the relief area extends back to infinity, there may indeed be a case where the drop is 40 yards (or more!) back from where it COULD have been but it would still be in the relief area so no correction is necessary… or allowed.

  • Like 3
Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 hours ago, Augster said:

Thanks for the help Dave!


Looking at the E5 relief diagrams, in this case for sure, his original drop in the fairway would have been outside the new relief area based on the known location of the lost ball. 

 

If the new information shows the drop location is outside the correct relief area (but noting E-5 relief areas can be enormous) then I agree the correct action would be for the player to lift the dropped ball and drop somewhere in the correct relief area. 

 

If, though, the new information affirms the ball has been dropped and come to rest within the correct relief area, then that is the question to seek a USGA opinion for - MAY or MUST the player re-drop in this situation?

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...
5 hours ago, Augster said:

USGA got back to me on this today. I don’t think they’ll make an official “clarification”, I feel they should, but at least we now have an official/unofficial answer. Dave was spot on in the post above this one. 
 

If the player takes his best guess on an E-5 lost ball and drops in the relief area, then after dropping but before playing, his ball is found creating an expanded relief area, if the ball was dropped already and would be in the new relief area also, the ball is played as it lies. 
 

If the player takes his best guess on an E-5 lost ball and drops in the relief area, but before playing, then after dropping receives new information creating a different relief area, one where his ball is currently lying outside of, the player must correct this and drop in the new relief area as per 17.1d(3)/2. 
 

Hopefully we will get an “official” clarification in the Rules someday showing this, but for now this is their guidance and seems most equitable/comparable to the situation with PA relief. 

Thanks for this. And I agree, I would like a USGA clarification. 

 

This is one of those rules I think of as "amateur" rules. I'm referencing one of your earlier posts in this thread about autumn golf. I played last weekend, in the northeast. Leaves already starting to fall. One both days I played, my groups spent more time than usual looking for balls. Especially on "blind" holes (for instance, dog legs where you can cut a corner, but you don't actually see you ball land). There were actually a couple instances where a buddy found their actual ball (hidden among leaves) after they had dropped and hit. (I know, not the same rules thing, but really kind of the same issue: Leaves are a real problem in the fall in the north.) 

 

This is only an issue for amateurs - and the USGA takes those slightly less seriously IMO. The pro tours either play in the south (no leaves), or the course is cleared of leaves, and either way there are fans and tourney volunteers that look for balls. The pros never lose balls on fairways due to leaves. Most amateurs that play in the fall in the north occasionally do. 

 

 

  • Like 1

Titleist GT2 10* ~ Ventus TR Blue

Titleist GT2 15* ~ Tensei CK Pro Blue

Titleist GT2 18* ~ Tensei CK Pro Blue

Titleist GT2 21* (H) ~ Tensei AV Raw Blue

Mizuno JPX 925 Forged, 4-6 ~ Aerotech SteelFiber i95

Mizuno Pro 245, 7-PW ~ Nippon NS Pro 950GH Neo

Miura Milled Tour Wedge QPQ 52* ~ KBS HI REV 2.0 SST

Miura Milled Tour Wedge High Bounce QPQ 58*HB-12 ~ KBS HI REV 2.0 SST

Scotty Phantom 5.5

Titleist Players glove, ProV1 Ball; Mizuno K1-LO Stand Bag, Sun Mountain C-130 Cart Bag

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 10/9/2024 at 12:23 AM, bobfoster said:

There were actually a couple instances where a buddy found their actual ball (hidden among leaves) after they had dropped and hit.

Did you ever read Model Local Rule F-14?  it's there specifically to address situations like this.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 10/8/2024 at 4:37 PM, Augster said:

Hopefully we will get an “official” clarification in the Rules someday showing this, but for now this is their guidance and seems most equitable/comparable to the situation with PA relief.

I don't see any Clarifications related to Model Local Rules, so it seems pretty unlikely that they'll provide one for this specific situation.  We'll have to muddle through with the guidance in 20.3, 

"Treating the situation in a way that is reasonable, fair and consistent with how similar situations are treated under the Rules."

As discussed, the most similar situation I can find is from 17.1d(3)/2.  I honestly don't see any other possible

decision that hews as closely to the existing rules.  

 

On 9/19/2024 at 8:40 AM, antip said:

then that is the question to seek a USGA opinion for - MAY or MUST the player re-drop in this situation?

 

There are very few rules that give a Player a choice, I can't see giving a player a choice between a first drop (maybe in a bad lie but within the proper Relief Area) and a new drop within the same Relief Area.  

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

35 minutes ago, davep043 said:

I don't see any Clarifications related to Model Local Rules, so it seems pretty unlikely that they'll provide one for this specific situation.  We'll have to muddle through with the guidance in 20.3, 

"Treating the situation in a way that is reasonable, fair and consistent with how similar situations are treated under the Rules."

As discussed, the most similar situation I can find is from 17.1d(3)/2.  I honestly don't see any other possible

decision that hews as closely to the existing rules.  

 

 

There are very few rules that give a Player a choice, I can't see giving a player a choice between a first drop (maybe in a bad lie but within the proper Relief Area) and a new drop within the same Relief Area.  

Agree.  17/1d(3)/2 is the similar situation.  It's all about whether or not the player has dropped in the correct relief area.  If he has, play on.  If he has not, then he must correct and drop in the correct relief area.  Since MLR E-5 creates such a large relief area, it's quite possible that the original drop is within the acceptable relief area, even if the edges of that relief area have changed.

Edited by rogolf
  • Like 4
Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 9/19/2024 at 8:38 AM, Schulzmc said:

But for me the key learning here is that, since the relief area extends back to infinity, there may indeed be a case where the drop is 40 yards (or more!) back from where it COULD have been but it would still be in the relief area so no correction is necessary… or allowed.

 

On 10/10/2024 at 11:13 AM, rogolf said:

Agree.  17/1d(3)/2 is the similar situation.  It's all about whether or not the player has dropped in the correct relief area.  If he has, play on.  If he has not, then he must correct and drop in the correct relief area.  Since MLR E-5 creates such a large relief area, it's quite possible that the original drop is within the acceptable relief area, even if the edges of that relief area have changed.

 

So Schulzie was right !!!  51683a_5187566cc3064bf19012aa71658e10d4~

 

 

 

 

 

 

Edited by nsxguy
  • Like 1

Callaway Epic Flash SZ 10.5 Ventus Blue 6S

Ping G425 14.5 Fairway Evenflow Red 5.5

Ping G425 MAX 20.5 7 wood Alta R

Ping G20 5-PW DGS300 Yellow Dot

Ping Glide Pro 48*

Taylormade MG4 52*, 56*, 60* DGS200

Odyssey AI-ONE MILLED

Titleist ProV1x

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

One bizarre thought popped up in my head.

 

In this case of E-5 the relief area may be exactly the same of partially the same. Thus a ball may have been dropped in a correct place in both of those situations. But what if that happens with a red Penalty Area? 

 

Take two points A and B. Point A is the point where player believes their ball has last crossed the margin of the PA (their best estimate). So they take that as the Reference point, take BOL relief and drop a ball correctly on the relief area. Now, at this point they get information from another person on the course saying that the original ball last crossed the margin much closer to hole at point B.

 

But incidentally those points A and B are on a straight line from the hole meaning the spot where the player dropped a ball was a correct spot, although there are other correct spots closer to hole.

 

Must the player re-drop?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If he intended tto take Lateral Relief, and the new Reference Point makes the initial drop in a Wrong Place for Lateral Relief, I think he must drop again.  He CAN change Relief options, take Back on the Line relief, but I believe he must make a new drop, he cannot choose to use the initial drop, even if it's in a right place based on the new point of entry.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I think Mr. Bean has answered his own question about this hypothetical situation in his last paragraph when he says the player has dropped the ball in a correct relief area for back-on-the-line.  As before, if the player has dropped the ball in a correct relief area for the relief being taken, he must carry on with that ball - that would be my ruling.

Edited by rogolf
  • Like 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, rogolf said:

I think Mr. Bean has answered his own question about this hypothetical situation in his last paragraph when he says the player has dropped the ball in a correct relief area for back-on-the-line.  As before, if the player has dropped the ball in a correct relief area for the relief being taken, he must carry on with that ball - that would be my ruling.

 

That was my view as well. Dave made a sidekick that has no bearing on the case I proposed but is very relevant if the drop was 2cl instead of BOL.

 

Interesting scenario all in all. I doubt we will ever come accross that one...

  • Like 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Our picks

    • 2025 Wyndham Championship - Discussion and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 Wyndham Championship - Tuesday #1
      2025 Wyndham Championship - Tuesday #2
      2025 Wyndham Championship - Tuesday #3
       
       
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Chandler Phillips - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Davis Riley - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Scotty Kennon - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Austin Duncan - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Will Chandler - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Kevin Roy - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Ben Griffin - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Peter Malnati - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Ryan Gerard - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Adam Schenk - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Kurt Kitayama - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Camilo Villegas - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Matti Schmid - WITB - 2025 Wyndham Championship
       
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Denny McCarthy's custom Cameron putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Swag Golf putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Karl Vilips TM MG5 wedges - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      New Bettinardi putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Matt Fitzpatrick's custom Bettinardi putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
      Cameron putters - 2025 Wyndham Championship
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
        • Thanks
      • 7 replies
    • 2025 3M Open - Discussion and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 3M Open - Tuesday #1
      2025 3M Open - Tuesday #2
      2025 3M Open - Tuesday #3
      2025 3M Open - Tuesday #4
       
       
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Luke List - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Isaiah Salinda - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Akshay Bhatia - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Kaito Onishi - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Chris Gotterup - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Rickie Fowler - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Seamus Power - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Chris Kirk - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Vince Whaley - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Andrew Putnam - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      David Lipsky - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Thomas Campbell - Minnesota PGA Section Champ - WITB - 2025 3M Open
      Max Herendeen - WITB - 2025 3M Open
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Rickie's custom Joe Powell persimmon driver - 2025 3M Open
      Custom Cameron T-9.5 - 2025 3M Open
      Tom Kim's custom prototype Cameron putter - 2025 3M Open
      New Cameron prototype putters - 2025 3M Open
      Zak Blair's latest Scotty acquisition - 2025 3M Open
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
      • 5 replies
    • 2025 The Open Championship - Discussions and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 The Open Championship - Sunday #1
      2025 The Open Championship – Monday #1
      2025 The Open Championship - Monday #2
      2025 Open Championship – Monday #3
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Cobra's 153rd Open Championship staff bag - 2025 The Open Championship
      Srixon's 153rd Open Championship staff bag - 2025 The Open Championship
      Scotty Cameron 2025 Open Championship putter covers - 2025 The Open Championship
      TaylorMade's 153rd Open Championship staff bag - 2025 The Open Championship
      Shane Lowry - testing a couple of Cameron putters - 2025 The Open Championship
      New Scotty Cameron Phantom Black putters(and new cover & grip) - 2025 The Open Championship
       
       
       




















       
       
       
       
        • Like
      • 26 replies
    • 2025 Genesis Scottish Open - Discussion and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 Genesis Scottish Open - Monday #1
      2025 Genesis Scottish Open - Tuesday #1
      2025 Genesis Scottish Open - Tuesday #2
       
       
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Adrian Otaegui - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Luke Donald - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Haotong Li - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Callum Hill - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Johannes Veerman - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Dale Whitnell - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Martin Couvra - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Daniel Hillier - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Angel Hidalgo Portillo - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Simon Forsstrom - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      J.H. Lee - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Marcel Schneider - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Ugo Coussaud - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Todd Clements - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Shaun Norris - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Marco Penge - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Nicolai Von Dellingshausen - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Hong Taek Kim - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Julien Guerrier - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Richie Ramsey - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Keita Nakajima's TaylorMade P-8CB irons - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Keita Nakajima - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Francesco Laporta - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Aaron Cockerill - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Sebastian Soderberg - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Connor Syme - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Jeff Winther - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Woo Young Cho - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Bernd Wiesberger - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Andy Sullivan - WITB 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Jacques Kruyswijk - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Pablo Larrazabal - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Thriston Lawrence - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Darius Van Driel - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Grant Forrest - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Jordan Gumberg - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Nacho Elvira - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Romain Langasque - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Dan Bradbury - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Yannik Paul - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Ashun Wu - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Alex Del Rey - WITB - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Collin Morikawa's custom Taylor-Made gamer - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Collin Morikawa's custom Taylor-Made putter (back-up??) - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      New TaylorMade P-UDI (Stinger Squadron cover) - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Rory's custom Joe Powell (Career Slam) persimmon driver & cover - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Keita Nakajima's TaylorMade P-8CB irons - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
      Tommy Fleetwood's son Mo's TM putter - 2025 Genesis Scottish Open
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
      • 20 replies
    • 2025 John Deere Classic - Discussion and Links to Photos
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2025 John Deere Classic - Monday #1
      2025 John Deere Classic - Monday #2
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Carson Young - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Zac Blair - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Anders Albertson - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Jay Giannetto - Iowa PGA Section Champ - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      John Pak - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Brendan Valdes - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Cristobal del Solar - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Dylan Frittelli - WITB - 2025 John Deere Classic
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Justin Lowers new Cameron putter - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Bettinardi new Core Carbon putters - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Cameron putter - 2025 John Deere Classic
      Cameron putter covers - 2025 John Deere Classic
       
       
       
       
       
       
        • Like
      • 2 replies

×
×
  • Create New...