Jump to content
2025 Members Choice voting is now open! Vote now for your favorite gear! ×

Augster

Advanced Members
  • Posts

    6421
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Feedback

    100%

Everything posted by Augster

  1. I won’t buy a repair tool without a marker with it. I have MY ball mark for MY ball. The ball marker on the repair tool is for when I have to mark someone else’s ball to speed up play. This looks cool and seems like something I’d buy if they were on sale.
  2. I can’t imagine trying to wear Hoka’s on the course. Firstly, so much foam you’d be standing so high. Secondly, ZERO lateral support. Hoka’s are primarily running/walking shoes. Straight lines. When I accidentally wear my Hoka’s to TopGolf, I’m really happy they have the nets in front of the hitting area to catch people. The lateral support of the Hoka’s on the follow through is non-existent. YMMV.
  3. This is completely preposterous and goes against everything written in Rule 3.2. If this were true, after a concession, I should NEVER lift my ball if there is even the slightest chance natural forces may eventually move it into the hole. Following that, 3.2 says a conceded stroke may be removed by anyone. So if what you say is correct, when I concede the next shot, I should hustle over there and pick it up and hand it to my opponent if it looks like he is going to leave it on the green. I’m not buying it. If the ball is clearly at rest, not overhanging, and I concede the next putt, that’s it. The hole is over for my opponent. This “second chance to win”, of leaving the ball on the green, is a bridge too far. It’s simply not in the Rules. My opponent has a 50-foot downhill putt. I have a 40-foot uphill putt. Both for birdie. He leaves his 50-foot putt 6-inches short. It comes to rest. I say, “That’s good”. He makes a 4. While I’m lining up my 40-footer, and he’s casually walking to his ball, like 10 seconds after I conceded it, a gust of wind blows his ball into the hole. Now I have to make my 40-footer to tie? My only other option is to say “that’s good”, then SPRINT to the hole and pick up his ball? These are scenarios I’ve never, ever heard of. Ever. I’m not buying it. I’ll have to see something from the Ruling bodies. If this is truly the way they want match play to run, they’ll have to add a clarification. Because if this is truly what they intend, it’s just not clear in the ROG.
  4. Rain gloves. You can’t actually wipe your face with them and they perform better.
  5. An opponent can concede the NEXT stroke while a ball is in motion, they can’t concede the stroke of the ball in motion. “A concession made while the opponent’s ball is still in motion after the previous stroke applies to the opponent’s next stroke, unless the ball is holed (in which case the concession does not matter).”
  6. If the ball comes to rest, the opponents can conceded it. Period. Once the next stroke is conceded, the hole is over for that player. Player A scores a 4. A ball at rest has infinity to fall into the hole as long as it isn’t overhanging the hole. Up to delay of play penalties. Once the ball is overhanging, and the player has taken a reasonable amount of time to arrive, then the 10 seconds starts. On windy days and fast greens, I’ll just leave my ball on the green while others play as long as they don’t need me to mark. I might get lucky.
  7. No penalty for either. Rule 4.3
  8. He doesn’t think you’re drawing shows the path “crossing the fairway” enough because it is parallel. Nothing to do with the actual rule being discussed. If one could move the path a couple of degrees away from the TW, then, eventually, it’d be “crossing the fairway”. But most can just imagine it that way. I’m guessing he wants a drawing of the cart path going 90* across the fairway, and the “ping pong” situation still happening. Much tougher to do because one can’t drop closer to the hole, so eventually, a player can take relief one or the other, and not ping pong.
  9. I think you’ve got it. Then when you get down on the press bet, you press that bet also. And on it goes until the round is over.
  10. This. The right handed player’s relief from the path with always be in the temp water. The temp water relief is always putting the player on the path. Infinite loop. Great illustration iacas! Before the 2019 Rule changes, the ball could roll up to 2CL’s outside the relief area. Eventually one could escape this if the ball bounced on the path correctly and moved the player across it. After 2019, the ball must stay in the relief area. No chance of escape no matter how many times you drop.
  11. Thanks Strakaline and thanks GolfWRX. I got my book a couple weeks ago and have been able to use it on my home course about 10 times. A pretty good initial tryout. My course is over 100 years old and has mostly older greens. Because of that, almost all the breaks are very subtle. There is no such thing as a straight putt on my course. Everything breaks a little bit. To help out, we’ve come up with “helpers” to help read the putts when you’re not sure. “It breaks towards downtown”, “it breaks towards Taco John’s”. Mostly we just say we got “taco’d” when the putt doesn’t break as it looks. Enter my opportunity to use the Strakaline book. Firstly, they sent 2 books, which means my son will be able to help try it out also. Secondly, the books are well made and look great. They fit perfectly in my leather scorecard holder. Lastly, they seem to be made of paper that is holding up great out on the course. Here is a picture out on my 7th hole. All the elevation changes and SO MANY yardage points, it’s amazing how much data they have one each page. The green maps show all of the subtle breaks on my greens. I’m finding it a little time consuming to try to find the exact break with the book while putting, but if I’m not putting first, I can quickly, quietly consult the green chart to confirm my reads and see the exact breaks on each hole. But if I have to putt first on a green, I generally don’t consult the book as a time saver for the group. When I, or anyone else in my group, misses a putt and looks perplexed, I break out the book and show them the green map. So far, the maps have been 100% accurate on every part of every green I’ve consulted it, and tested it with rolling some putts. It truly is an amazing product. I was hoping to take some more pics tomorrow when I finally get to play my course again, but it’s most likely going to rain, so any updates may be a day or two later. I’m truly impressed with The Book by Strakaline. I’m already a really good putter, but The Book by Strakaline will certainly help me make even more putts by showing the most subtle of breaks at my course. If I could figure out a quick and efficient way to use the book on each putt, I would, but I’m not there yet for pace of play purposes. Thanks for the great opportunity! Any questions, I’m always on WRX.
  12. Don’t wear white pants or shorts for golf. Problem solved. If you’re playing Wimbledon, talk to your clothing sponsor.
  13. We have basically the same guy. But he’s already riding! Your solution sounds most equitable. Always in the last group. Another solution is to always make sure he’s playing in a 3-some. Even if it means one group is a 5-some ahead of him. The 5-some will play slower than a 4-some, and his 3-some may likely be able to keep pace. We don’t have a solution with our guy yet. He’s not in the best of health, so it seems we are just going to let Father Time take care of it.
  14. Absolutely this. Guys I play with do this constantly during casual play. They ask which club was hit etc. It’s a really bad habit to get into if one plans to play competitively.
  15. I don’t think the term “recreate perfectly” is in the ROG.
  16. You can authorize the requesting player to mark the ball himself, yes, but you can’t MAKE him do it. If he’s requesting you mark it, you still have to have it marked. Except in stroke play where you can just putt out. Hopefully standing on his line. 🙂
  17. Thanks for the answers! If Reed had taken relief from the wrong putting green, he absolutely would have been behind the TIO again. I did not know there could be a MLR where one CAN play a ball from the fringe while standing on a wrong putting green. EDiT: It looks like around the green they had the worlds shortest “fringe” then the regular fringe that he dropped in. So he was standing in the “first cut” of “fringe” and not on the putting green. It’s just the way they cut them at Valderrama I guess. I wonder how many guys marked their balls in that “first cut” of fringe during the week. I’m hoping zero. Thanks for the help!
  18. 1. City, State? Minneapolis, MN 2. Handicap? 7.3 3. What is your current wedge setup? 50* Mizuno gap, 56* Wishon SW and 60* Wishon LW 4. Which RTZ wedges would you like to test? (Tour Satin, Black, or Tour Rack) The Black Satin wedges look awesome. 5. Why would you like to test the Cleveland Golf RTZ wedges? I love the look of the black satin wedges and used to play with Cleveland wedges all the time. I’d like to try their newest offerings for sure. 6. Are you willing to do an in-depth written review, with high quality photos, and future updates? Absolutely!
  19. In the final round of the LIV event today, on 17, Patrick Reed yanked his drive over by a wrong putting green. The tower behind that green was in his line of play, so he got TIO relief. The point they ended up using was the fringe of the putting green. This put his right-handed stance on the green. He now has to take relief for the wrong putting green stance. The ref in the booth got it right, saying he’d have to take relief for that stance. The ref on the course got it wrong and let Reed play the ball as it lies. Here nor there. The relief for the wrong green stance was always going to end up needing TIO relief. It was a big tower. The relief for TIO was always going to end up on the fringe. In this case, at what point is the player allowed to take relief from both conditions simultaneously? Or do they just drop infinitely until there is a weird hop and the reference point eventually ends up with the players feet off the green, or the player decides to not take TIO relief. Thanks.
  20. In short, yes the player can drop in the PA for the OB ball if he chooses. He also has the option to drop within the rules at the reference point. (PLC) Lastly, he can drop in the PA. But if he drops and gets a terrible lie and cannot play it, he can take one more PS and drop within the rules at the RP of the PLC.
  21. Is this stroke play? If a player asks you to mark your ball, you can just play it instead of marking in stroke play. 15.3a.
×
×
  • Create New...