Jump to content
2025 Members Choice voting is now open! Vote now for your favorite gear! ×

antip

Advanced Members
  • Posts

    3367
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Feedback

    0%

Everything posted by antip

  1. Agree, it's no big issue. But my point all along has been you cannot do the two different reliefs in one step, the Rules simply don't permit that. Which examples we use don't matter. If you are just complying with the requirements of one of the two, no problem, you then potentially have a choice about whether you proceed with the second, if you remain entitled in that fresh situation.
  2. I'm not following this. Preferred lies has extremely specific requirements. An example: preferred lies is in place (card length) and your ball is in temporary water in the fairway. You lift and place your ball just inside the one club length for TW relief and hit the ball. Ruling: general penalty, you have played from a wrong place - you failed to comply with the requirements of either rule. My point was when two relief conditions apply, you cannot take relief from both simultaneously to a spot that complies with neither rule individually.
  3. Agree, all good guidance. I note a further option that the players in a match have - they can agree to play out of order to save time. That may (or may not) occasionally be helpful and reduce the amount of faffing around with repairing/recreating etc.
  4. LOL, in my part of the world is the "yo yo" rule. And usually this experience is because the regular dude on the course is unaware of the requirements of the rules and takes relief from both conditions in one step. It is extremely common to have more than one relief rule apply at the same time - for example, any time preferred lies (lift, clean, place) is in effect and other conditions such as temporary water or GUR overlap.
  5. You actually have that entirely reversed from the truth. There is only one rule in the book that involves a match adjustment for a breach, Rule 4.1b.
×
×
  • Create New...